Happening Now

Action Alert: House Proposes $1.5B, Restores Daily Service

February 9, 2021

Action Alert: House Transportation Committee Provides $1.5 billion for Amtrak, Restores Daily Service

The House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure released a transportation funding proposal for the next round of COVID-19 funding that includes $1.5 billion for Amtrak and $30 billion for transit, along with mandates to restore daily service on the long-distance trains and bring back workers furloughed due to the pandemic.

This is great news, and a testament to the work this Association has done over the past few months!

We need your help right now on two critical items. The bill is scheduled to be marked up by the committee on February 10. That means we need you to reach out to contact your representative if they are on the T&I committee (full roster below)—and:

  1. Express your support for Amtrak’s funding and the mandate to restore service and workers.
  2. Ask them to oppose the amendment offered by Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA), which would entirely strip out all funding and restoration mandates for Amtrak.
  3. Support inclusion of the $30 billion for mass transit systems.

With the markup scheduled for Wednesday, 11am Eastern, the time to act is short!

Act Now!

Thank you for your work!

Details: S. Con. Res. 5 - TITLE VII – Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure

  • Amtrak - $1.5 billion
    • NEC - $820,388,160
    • National Network - $679,622,840
    • Not less than $165,926,000 from the combined amounts of the NEC and National Network shall be used to restore all long-distance service in effect as of July 1, 2020, and to recall all workers put on furlough on or after October 1, 2020. Restoration and re-employment to occur within 90 days of enactment.
    • Not less than $109,805,000 from the combined amounts of the NEC and National Network shall be used in lieu of capital payments that the state supported routes and commuter authorities were required to pay.
    • $174,850,000 from the National Network funds shall be used by Amtrak to offset amounts required to be paid by States for covered State-supported routes.
  • Mass Transit - $30 billion
    • Funds shall be used to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus; includes eligibility for operating expenses to prevent layoffs and avoid cuts to service.

117th House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee Roster


Peter DeFazio

( D -OR-04)


Eleanor Holmes Norton

( D -DC At-Large)

Eddie Bernice Johnson

( D -TX-30)

Rick Larsen

( D -WA-02)

Grace Napolitano

( D -CA-32)

Steve Cohen

( D -TN-09)

Albio Sires

( D -NJ-08)

John Garamendi

( D -CA-03)

Hank Johnson

( D -GA-04)

Andre Carson

( D -IN-07)

Dina Titus

( D -NV-01)

Sean Patrick Maloney

( D -NY-18)

Jared Huffman

( D -CA-02)

Julia Brownley

( D -CA-26)

Frederica Wilson

( D -FL-24)

Donald M. Payne Jr.

( D -NJ-10)

Alan Lowenthal

( D -CA-47)

Mark DeSaulnier

( D -CA-11)

Stephen Lynch

( D -MA-08)

Salud Carbajal

( D -CA-24)

Anthony Brown

( D -MD-04)

Tom Malinowski

( D -NJ-07)

Greg Stanton

( D -AZ-09)

Colin Allred

( D -TX-32)

Sharice Davids

( D -KS-03)


Chuy Garcia

( D -IL-04)

Antonio Delgado

( D -NY-19)

Chris Pappas

( D -NH-01)

Conor Lamb

( D -PA-17)

Seth Moulton

( D -MA-06)

Jake Auchincloss

( D -MA-04)

Carolyn Bourdeaux

( D -GA-07)

Kai Kahele

( D -HI-02)

Marilyn Strickland

( D -WA-10)

Nikema Williams

( D -GA-05)

Marie Newman

( D -IL-03)


Sam Graves

( R -MO-06)

Ranking Member

Don Young

( R -AK At-Large)

Rick Crawford

( R -AR-01)

Bob Gibbs

( R -OH-07)

Dan Webster

( R -FL-11)

Thomas Massie

( R -KY-04)

Scott Perry

( R -PA-10)

Rodney Davis

( R -IL-13)

John Katko

( R -NY-24)

Brian Babin

( R -TX-36)

Garret Graves

( R -LA-06)

David Rouzer

( R -NC-07)

Mike Bost

( R -IL-12)

Randy Weber

( R -TX-14)

Doug LaMalfa

( R -CA-01)

Bruce Westerman

( R -AR-04)

Brian Mast

( R -FL-18)

Mike Gallagher

( R -WI-08)

Brian Fitzpatrick

( R -PA-01)

Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon

( R -PR At-Large)

Troy Balderson

( R -OH-12)

Pete Stauber

( R -MN-08)

Tim Burchett

( R -TN-02)

Michael Guest

( R -MS-03)

Dusty Johnson

( R -SD At-Large)

Jeff Van Drew

( R -NJ-02)

Carlos Gimenez

( R -FL-26)

Nancy Mace

( R -SC-01)

Nicole Malliotakis

( R -NY-11)

Troy Nehls

( R -TX-22)

Beth Van Duyne

( R -TX-24)

Michelle Steel

( R -CA-48)